

State of New Tersey

Department of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Wage and Hour Compliance PO Box 389 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389

Instructions for Completing the Application for Public Works Contractor Registration

The Public Works Contractor Registration Act (N.J.S.A. 34:11-56.48, et seq.) requires all contractors, subcontractors, or lower tier subcontractors (*including subcontractors listed in bid proposals*) who bid on or engage in the performance of any public work to register with the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. The Contractor Registration Certificate is issued to both the company (*the business name listed in question #1*) and its responsible representatives (*the individuals listed in question #9*).

All applications must be accompanied by a check or money order made payable to the *Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development*. Mail the application, check, and any other required documentation or forms to the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance (mailing address is on the back of this form).

Please allow 30 calendar days for processing the contractor registration certificate.

Type of Application and Certificate Number:

Check appropriate box for new or renewal registration. If renewal, indicate current certificate number.

- New or One-Year Renewal Fee is \$300 and non-refundable.
- Two-Year Renewal A two-year renewal is available <u>only</u> to employers who have been <u>continuously</u> registered for the past <u>two</u> consecutive years with no violations. Fee is \$500 and <u>non-refundable</u>.

Questions 1-9:

- 1. Type or print legibly the legal name of business used to contract/subcontract public works projects. If more than one business entity name is party to contracts, <u>separate registrations are required</u>.
- 2. Enter corporate name if different than item #1.
- 3. Enter the firm's street address, city, state, ZIP code, and county.
- 4. Enter the firm's mailing address if different than item #3.
- 5. Enter telephone number, fax number, and e-mail.
- 6. Enter Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). If no FEIN assigned, enter Social Security Number of owner.
- 7. Check the type of business. If business is a corporation, enter the date of incorporation, the State of incorporation, and the New Jersey Business/Corp. Number. Enter the number of employees (at time of application).

If you are a <u>new</u> <u>out-of-state</u> applicant and plan to keep your payroll/business records <u>outside</u> of New Jersey, you must complete a Request for Permission to Maintain Payroll Records Outside of New Jersey (form MW-42). To get this form, go to <u>www.nj.gov/labor</u> and click on <u>Wage & Hour</u> then <u>Registration</u> & <u>Permits</u>, or call (609) 292-9464.

Out-of-state applicants must appoint a registered agent in New Jersey who will accept legal service in New Jersey. Provide the registered agent's name, street address, city, state, ZIP code, telephone number, fax number, and e-mail.

8. Enter Workers' Compensation carrier name, policy number, and effective dates (month, date and year).

Note: Sole proprietors and LLCs who do <u>not</u> have workers' compensation coverage must attach a notarized statement stating that the company is not incorporated and has no employees.

9. List <u>ALL</u> individuals who have an "interest" in the business listed in question #1 bidding or performing work on the public works project, whether as an owner, partner, managing member (for LLC companies only), corporate officer, principal, manager, employee, agent, consultant, or representative.

Enter each person's first name, last name, title, social security number, % of financial ownership in business (*if zero, so state*), telephone number, home address, city, state, and ZIP code. *Add additional sheets if necessary*.

If you are an individual/sole proprietor, provide your personal information.

Note: The names and titles of the individuals listed in question #9 will appear on the certificate of registration.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:60-7.2, "interest" is defined as follows:

"Interest" means an interest in the entity bidding or performing work on the public works project, whether as an owner, partner, officer, manager, employee, agent, consultant or representative. The term also includes, but is not limited to, all instances where the debarred contractor or subcontractor receives payments, whether cash or any other form of compensation, from any entity bidding or performing work on the public works project, or enters into any contracts or agreements with the entity bidding or performing work on the public works project for services performed, or to be performed, for contracts that have been or will be assigned or sublet, or for vehicles, tools, equipment or supplies that have been or will be sold, rented or leased during the period from the initiation of the debarment proceedings until the end of the term of the debarment period. "Interest," however, does not include shares held in a publicly traded corporation if the shares were not received as compensation after the initiation of debarment from an entity bidding or performing work on a public works project.

Questions 10 – 16:

Read each question carefully and give complete and accurate responses. Be sure to check Yes or No; do not use "N/A" or leave blank.

For question #10, be sure to disclose your association with other firms. For questions #13 and #14, be sure to disclose any prior history of any alleged violations of any State or Federal Labor Laws.

<u>Failure</u> to disclose associations with other firms or to disclose any prior history of alleged violations could lead to the denial or loss of your contractor registration!

Applicant Statement: Review the Applicant Statement. Sign and date the Statement, and print the name and title of the person signing the Statement.



Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:62-2.4(a), a contractor registration certificate may be denied, suspended, or revoked due to inaccurate information, misstatements, or omissions.



Return application & payment to:

NJ Dept. of Labor & Workforce Development Division of Wage & Hour Compliance PO Box 389 Trenton, NJ 08625-0389

Tel. (609) 292-9464 Fax (609) 633-8591

UPS & FedEx overnight mail:

NJ Dept. of Labor & Workforce Development Division of Wage & Hour Compliance 1 John Fitch Plaza, 3rd Floor Trenton, NJ 08611

Please allow 30 calendar days for processing the contractor registration certificate.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

Department of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Wage and Hour Compliance

APPLICATION FOR PUBLIC WORKS CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:					
Log #					
Check #					
Check Amount \$					

Check your contractor registration status online at www.nj.gov/labor (click on Wage Hour then Registration & Permits).

All applications must be accompanied by a check or money order made payable to the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development.

	New Application - \$300 Non-Refundable Fee Two-Year Renewal (only available to firms who have been continuously registered for the past two consecutive years) - \$500 Non-Refundable Fee									
Ш	One-Year Renewal - \$500 Non-Retundable	registered for the past two consecutive years) - \$500 Non-Refundable Fee Current Certificate No.								
			Current Certifica	10.						
1.	Province Name (D. 11.11.11.11		./ 1 11:	•						
	Business Name (Provide the legal name of business used to contract/subcontract public works projects.)									
2.	Corporate Name (if different than item #	1)								
3.	Street Address	Cite	State	7ID C. 1.	Constant					
	Street Address	City	State	ZIP Code	County					
4.	Mailing Address (if different than item #	3)								
5.										
	Telephone No.	Fax No.	e-mail							
6.	6 OR									
	Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) If no FEIN assigned, enter Social Security No. of owner.									
7.	Type of Business:									
	☐ Individual/Sole Proprietor	Partnership	☐ NJ Corporation	Out-of-Sta	ate Corporation *					
	LLC (Limited Liability Company)	LLP (Limited Liab	pility Partnership)	Other						
	If a corporation, complete the following:	Date of Incorporation	ion State of Incorporation *							
	NJ Business/Corp. No No. of Employees (at time of application)									
*	* <u>New out-of state applicants</u> who plan to keep payroll/business records <u>outside of New Jersey</u> must complete a Request for Permission to Maintain Payroll Records Outside of New Jersey (form MW-42). To get this form, go to <u>www.nj.gov/labor</u> and click on <u>Wage & Hour then Registration & Permits</u> .									
	Out-of-state applicants must appoint a registered agent in New Jersey who will accept legal service in New Jersey:									
	Name of Registered Agent in New Jersey									
	Street Address		City	State ZIP Coo						
	Telephone No.	Fax No.		e-mail						
8.	Workers' Compensation Carrier Name: *									
	Policy Number:		Effective Date: From	/ To _	//					
*	If you are a sole proprietor with no workers'									

LSSE-2 (R-10-15-09) Page 1 of 4

Bus	sines	s Name:		Certificate No.				
9.	inst mai	tructions) in the business list naging member (for LLC con	on for <u>ALL</u> individuals who have an "interest" (for definition ted in item #1 bidding or performing work on the public wo interest and interest only), corporate officer, principal, manager, employee to TE: The names and the titles of the individuals listed here we	rks project, v e, agent, cons	whether as an owner, partner, ultant, or representative. <i>Add</i>			
	a.	First Name	Last Name	Title				
		Social Security No.	% of financial ownership in business (if zero, so state)	in business (if zero, so state)				
		Home Address	City	State	ZIP Code			
	b.	First Name	Last Name	Title				
		Social Security No.	% of financial ownership in business (if zero, so state)	in business (if zero, so state) Tele				
		Home Address	City	State	ZIP Code			
	c.	First Name	Last Name	Title				
		Social Security No.	% of financial ownership in business (if zero, so state))	Telephone No.			
		Home Address	City	State	ZIP Code			
10.	(b) At any time during the preceding five (5) years, have any of the individuals listed in item #9 ever held an "interest," see N.J.A.C. 12:60-7.2 in the instructions) in another firm which has applied for or obtained a "Public Registration Certificate" or has bid on or performed work on a public works project, whether as an owner, partner, in LLC companies only), corporate officer, principal, manager, employee, agent, consultant, or representative? If yes, list the name of the individual, position held, start and end dates, and name and address of company.							
	NO	TE: <u>Failure</u> to disclose associ	iations with other firms could cause the <u>denial</u> or <u>loss</u> of your c	ontractor reg	sistration certificate.			
11.	the	State of New Jersey, any other	et ever been prohibited or debarred from performing public were state, public entity (e.g. city, county, board of education, etc., s, reason for prohibition/debarment, and any other relevant deta), or the feder				
		es, provide start and one date.	s, reason for promotion decarment, and any other relevant dea					
12.	<i>pro</i> gov	hibition) by the State of Novernment?	ted in item #9 ever been prohibited or debarred from perfor lew Jersey, any other state, public entity (e.g. city, county, b) dual, start and end dates, reason for prohibition/debarment, and	oard of educ	ation, etc.), or the federal Yes No			

LSSE-2 (R-10-15-09) Page 2 of 4

Bus	iness Naı	ne:		_	Certificate No				
13.	3. At any time during the preceding five (5) years, did the business listed in item #1 receive a notice of an alleged violation of any:								
	a. New .	Jersey State Labor Law?		Yes	☐ No				
	b. Unite	d States Federal Labor Law?		Yes	☐ No				
	c. Labor	Laws of any other state or public	entity?	Yes	☐ No				
	NOTE:	Failure to disclose any prior histor	y of alleged v	iolations	could cause the <u>denial</u> or <u>le</u>	oss of your contra	ctor registration certificate.		
14.	14. At any time during the preceding five (5) years, did any of the <u>individuals listed in item #9</u> or any <u>firm listed in item #10</u> receive a notice of an alleged violation of any:								
	a. New	Jersey State Labor Law?		Yes	☐ No				
	b. Unite	d States Federal Labor Law?		Yes	☐ No				
	c. Labor	Laws of any other state or public	entity?	Yes	☐ No				
	NOTE:	Failure to disclose any prior histor	v of alleged v	iolations	could cause the denial or le	oss of your contra	ctor registration certificate.		
 15. Has the firm or any individual listed in item #9 ever been alleged to have committed any unlawful act in attempting to obtain or in the performance of a Public Contract?									
9	Code	<u>Craft</u>	<u>Code</u>		<u>Craft</u>	<u>Code</u>	<u>Craft</u>		
2	38220	Air Balancing & Testing	238290	Elev	ators	237310	Paving		
5	62910	Asbestos Removal	238910	Exca	vation	237120	Pipeline Construction		
2	38910	Boring	238990	Fenc	ing	238220	Plumbing		
2	38140	Brick and Block	238330	Floor	ring/Tile	238220	Refrigeration		
2	37990	Bulkheads & Docks	236220	Gene	eral Construction	238160	Roofing		
2	38350	Carpentry (general)	237310	Road	and Heavy Highway	237110	Sewer Piping & Storm Drains		
2	38330	Carpeting	484110	Haul	ing	238220	Sheet Metal (Mechanical)		
2	38390	Caulking & Water	238220	HVA	ı.C	238220	Sprinkler Systems		

517110

238210

_562211

_238190

213111

__Other

Traffic Signals

Waste Removal,

Toxic/Hazardous

Welding

Well Drilling

Describe: _

Telecommunications

Page 3 of 4 LSSE-2 (R-10-15-09)

Painting

Iron and Steel Fabrications

Insulation/Mechanical

Landscape Construction

Mechanical Construction

Janitorial Services

238130

238310

_561720

541320

238220

238320

Proofing

Concrete

Core Drilling

Demolition

Diving

Dredging

Electrical

238110

_213112

_238910

561990

237990

_238210

APPLICANT STATEMENT

As the responsible applicant, I attest to the following:

- I have read and understood the questions contained in the attached application and its appendices.
- I understand that failure to provide full, accurate, and timely disclosure of any of the required information or documentation may result in the denial of this application for registration and/or revocation of any contractor registration certificate.
- I understand and agree that the Applicant has a continuing duty to promptly notify the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Division of Wage and Hour Compliance in writing of any change to the answers or information contained herein.
- I acknowledge that the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Division of Wage and Hour Compliance may, by means it deems appropriate, determine the accuracy and truth of the statements made in the application.
- I agree and warrant that truthfully answering the questions on this application is an event entirely within my control.
- In accordance with the New Jersey Child Support Improvement Act, N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.44d, by signing this application I am hereby certifying that I do not have a child support obligation or I have such an obligation but the arrearage amount does not equal or exceed the amount of the child support payable for six months and any court-ordered health coverage has been provided for the past six months. Furthermore, I certify that I have not failed to respond to a subpoena relating to a paternity or child support proceeding or I am not the subject of a child support related warrant. I understand that making a false statement may subject my contractor registration certificate to immediate revocation or suspension.

accurate, true, and complete.		C	•	•	**
Signature			_	 Date	
Print Name and Title	 		_		
Frini Name and Hille					

I certify that to the best of my knowledge the information given in response to each question and the appendices is

Return to:

NJ Dept. of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Wage and Hour Compliance PO Box 389 Trenton, NJ 08625-0389

Tel. (609) 292-9464 Fax (609) 633-8591

UPS & FedEx overnight mail:

NJ Dept. of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Wage and Hour Compliance 1 John Fitch Plaza, 3rd Floor Trenton, NJ 08611

Please allow 30 calendar days for processing the contractor registration certificate.

Check your registration status and effective and expiration dates online at www.nj.gov/labor (click on Wage & Hour then Registration & Permits)

LSSE-2 (R-10-15-09) Page 4 of 4